Unreal: Part I

Part I of…many parts.

Saturday started out like any other day: grey and slightly drizzly, a little exercise, a little tea, a little facebook stalking, a lot of singing to anything and everything (What? Your days don’t start out like this, too?). But through a series of, shall I say unreal, events, the day turned into anything but ordinary*.

*If you’re expecting something wildly epic to have happened, like me winning the lottery, finally climbing Mt. Everest with nothing but a pack of matches and a defunct compass, or taking a shower (kidding, kidding…I take showers), then you are setting yourself up for failure.

*****

If talking and singing reindeer heads are any indicator of the normalcy of my day, then you're in for a wild ride. (more on the reindeer later)

My roommate and I set off to visit the Weihnachtsmarkt in Bonn (typical German Christmas market), using the convenient public transportation system. Used to the stares from German passengers are we chatter away in English, we focused on analyzing the very colorful graffiti present at every S-Bahn stop. “Oh look, they’re riding dolphins in the ocean.” “Oh look, that person has no eyeballs.” “Goodness, what IS that? I don’t want to know.”

If I had seen this graffiti, I would have been singing "Hakuna Matata" all day...and maybe it's a good thing I didn't. (source)

We happily occupied ourselves with this until, just a few stops before the Bonn Hauptbahnhof, when my worst nightmare came true: a group of 20 or so middle school children crammed into our car, sat next to us, and proceeded to be…well, middle school children. I was desperately searching for a way to end my misery, when my roommate mouthed to me, “Our stop is next.” Christmas had just come early.

I was this excited. (Despite my dislike of middle schoolers, I like "Elf." Let's pretend there's no hypocrisy, okay? ) (source)

 

I quickly stood up, squeezed past the kids, and hung onto the handrails as the strain flung me forward and I snapped back, like a failed attempt at launching a rubber band from your fingers. I couldn’t wait to get off that train. My fellow passengers were all waiting for the doors to open.

Okay, any minute now.

Bah-bah-dum-dum.

Tick tock. Tick tock.

Doors still not opening. Panic started to consume me. What if I were stuck on this train with the middle schoolers forever? Oh no, this could not happen. Where’s the emergency exit? I look around and panic even more, as I can’t locate one. The people waiting to get on the train are looking rather impatient, whereas we on the train are looking a little frazzled. How much longer could I wait? “This is unreal,” I think.

Boom. Pssssshhhhh.

Door open non-chalantly, like nothing ever went wrong. Ahh, finally. I was about to have a heart attack.

Little did I know that that was the start of an unordinary day.

….To Be Continued…

3 thoughts on “Unreal: Part I

  1. Pingback: Unreal: Part II « Un Bello Aperitivo

I'd love to hear your thoughts...please share!

