Love Locks: An (Un)Comprehensive Study

 

One of the best parts about living in Germany is being able to devote time to being a local. There’s no need to go to Köln and rush around, trying to see all the sights in a jam-packed itinerary for two days. You have the liberty of time to stop and notice the little things that busy tourists might otherwise pass by (or quickly snap a photo of and move on).

One afternoon in Köln I spent some quality time looking at the locks that couples have locked on the Hohenzollern Bridge. It was a bit dodgy, taking pictures while tourists nudged my elbows and bicycles whizzed past me. Nevertheless, I managed to capture some of my favorites:

 

 

 

 

Some of the locks commemorated weddings, with matching wedding bands locked together. (A popular idea, but Eric and Tanja’s lock won out.)

 

"Yes!"

 

(Imagine if it said, “Nein!” instead. I know, I know, that’s very unsympathetic…)

 

 

What this one lacks in looks, it makes up for in size (and in creative names).

 

 

 

"I love every bit of fluff on you!"

 

(This sounds like something I would say. Awkward.)

 

 

Let’s hope this lock just commemorated their 10 year anniversary, not a divorce after 10 years. (I kid, I kid.)

 

 

 

 

This wins the most random lock award. “Taddel” and “Lind Ling” are some weird pet names. And I’m sincerely hoping that  the caterpillar and Squidward-esque additions aren’t 100% accurate likenesses of “Taddel” and “Ling Ling.”

 

 

Budda was a popular choice for the more elaborate locks.

 

 

 

A beautiful sentiment on some not so beautiful locks. I’m pretty sure orange is only popular if you’re a pumpkin or an…orange.

 

 

Nothing says, “I love you,” like a salamander. Unless, of course, you are a salamander.

 

 

Or, perhaps just skip the traditional lock altogether and go for a giant fish. (To complete it, they should have engraved it with, “You’re quite the catch!” Thank you, thank you, I’ll stick around after the show.)

 

Which lock is your favorite?

 

4 thoughts on “Love Locks: An (Un)Comprehensive Study

  1. These are really interesting to look at! I guess it must be a pretty common practice, if you can buy engraved locks specifically for that purpose. Thanks for braving the bicycles to take and share those photos!

I'd love to hear your thoughts...please share!

