Arrival in Germany

Guten Morgen!

My extended absence has been due to the fact that I’ve moved to Germany for a year (well, not that I haven’t posted in a year, although it may feel like it). Excuses, excuses.

Anyway, I’m sure you’re all dying to know all the minutia of the trip: how many blisters I got, what the temperature was outside in all the cities I was in, what my floors are made of, how many fingernails I broke in the process…oh wait, no? I’m kidding, just kidding.

Here are some observations on the airport travel, just because I like making lists:

1. If an airline is not from the US, chances are it will have decent or even great food!

I didn’t take a picture of my “dinner” on United, because it consisted of a salad (actually, that was okay), a roll that seemed to be sweating in its plastic wrapper, and lasagna, which was covered in unmelted cheese product. But, I received this for breakfast on BMI:

Muesli, this was delicious. (Also, picture = not that great, since beggars can't be choosers and the German man sitting across from me was throwing furtive and rather suspicious glances at me. Best not to offend him, right?

 

I also have fond memories of airberlin’s fine snacks:

Mannerwafers!

 

2. If a man is over the age of 25 and not from the US, chances are he will be very kind.

As my carryon suitcase was full of a 2-pound container of dates, electronics, and glass bottles of vitamins, I was really hoping someone would help me hoist it up into the overhead bin space. As I was pretending I was a shot-put thrower at the Olympics, a kind older man asked me if I needed help. I said, “No thanks.” Kidding, just kidding. I said yes! (The ring is beautiful, by the way. Pure 24 karat gold.)

His kindness impeded me from the small annoyance of him immediately reclining his chair in front of me as soon as we were in the air. Eh, at least I was in the last row of EconomyPlus, which meant I got MORE LEGROOM! That’s great for me, since I’m a whopping 5’4″.

When we got off the plane, he even helped me with taking my bag down. And, here’s the kicker. We both were flying BMI next, so we were waiting in the same line for our boarding passes. To add to his kindness, he let me cut him in line, since his plane didn’t leave til 1:00 and mine left in approximately a half hour. Whoops. We struck up a conversation and I found out he was from Sri Lanka. I guess Sri Lankan people are very generous (blanket statement).

3. It’s a small world when you fly internationally.

I happened to sit in the same row as a kid who was also studying abroad, and I found out we have a mutual friend who goes to his college. Couple this with an older woman who was traveling to Ireland with her husband, who was left behind at the gate, (whoops) and you get interesting travel partners.

4. Headphones on airlines do not work.

When I saw they were showing Woody Allen’s “Midnight in Paris,” I got all excited and put on the giant, Dr. Dre-esque headphones they provided. Awkwardly, the sound didn’t work. So I plugged in my regular headphones, and they worked! At least in the left ear, only. Awkward.

I'm really not kidding, this is a scene from the movie that they were filming while I was in Paris last summer (which, ironically, was also at midnight).

 

So, if you’re not completely bored with this, stay tuned for some more epic updates on my first days.

 

Tchuss! 

One thought on “Arrival in Germany

I'd love to hear your thoughts...please share!

