Who Wants a Date?

Happy Monday, Friends!

Quick, if you had to pick one cuisine to eat for the rest of your life, what would it be?

The first one that comes to mind for me is Middle Eastern food (that and the fact that people in the Middle East eat dates. And I like dates. A lot.).

I’m sure I’ve just scratched the surface of Middle Eastern food, but nothing can come between me and hummus. Except maybe dates.

I mean, how can you go wrong with a cuisine that has fruity olive oil, cucumbers and tomatoes, hummus, baba ganouj, and…dates?

Answer: You can’t.

So, when we were offered Middle Eastern desserts at work for “employee appreciation,” I jumped at the chance to savor both the sweet, fried rice balls and the roz bel laban, or rice pudding.

Enjoyed with the finest dining companions, my computer and my phone.

 

The rice pudding was studded with raisins and topped with slivered almonds. I knew it was most likely made with milk, so I just had a little taste of it.

 

The rice balls were…interesting. You know how protein powder kind of has that…taste (and texture)?

Well, these had a “taste” and “texture.” They weren’t very sweet, and they were slightly grainy. They weren’t bad, just different.

 

But, the grandest part of the whole thing happened yesterday. My boss came back from a recent trip to the Middle East, and he visited a pick-you-own-dates farm. Um, excuse me? I need to go. Is there one of those somewhere in the US?

He told me about the website http://bateel.com, which is a gourmet “confectioner” that sells a whole slew of varieties of dates, and even some stuffed dates. I was like a kid in a candy store. My boss let me try some dates that he brought back; so. good. My favorite was the date stuffed with candied orange peel. Yum.

(source)

 

Funny story: I was recounting this story to a coworker, and I told him that my boss and I were sharing stories about dates. My coworker’s puzzled face revealed my awkward wording. “Um, I meant dates as in the food. Talking about real dates would have been awkward. Very awkward.”

What’s your favorite cuisine? Or, if you don’t like food, what’s your latest embarrassing moment?

2 thoughts on “Who Wants a Date?

  1. I never realized that until you pointed it out – but Middle eaastern cuisine really is where it’s at! The dates your boss brought back sound awesome.
    On nutsonline.com (sorry, not trying to advertise) they have a ton of different kinds of dates. I keep wanting to try different kinds, but haven’t gotten around to it yet!

I'd love to hear your thoughts...please share!

