The Ultimate Granola

I finally used my camera for once; this has to be a record breaker. Kidding, just kidding.

Anyway…like the blog look? Feedback is appreciated.

This is a blatant teaser for what's to come.

So, one day at Costco we were waiting in line to check out, when we we kept taking glances over our shoulders at an “artisan fruit and nut blend” that was pretty much shouting our names. Okay, okay, so you don’t have to twist my arm. In the cart it went.

Fast forward two weeks and three bags later, and I’m wanting to curb my enthusiasm. Don’t get me wrong, I’m still deeply in love with it, but I want to make it last longer. Um, a lot longer. (ETA: Confession: I’m eating the trail mix right now. Awkwardly, I just bit into a dried cherry that wasn’t pitted. Ow.)

Enter granola. I made granola a few weeks ago that tasted great, but it didn’t have any clusters. We all know you eat granola just for the clusters. And besides, it’s quite awkward to figure out how to eat granola without clusters. I mean, come on, I actually have to use a spoon?

But, thanks to some creative finagling, the cluster-ific, nearly-all-clusters granola was born (now with cranberries!).

 

Divert your attention from the cranberries to the clusters...

Imagine my excitement when I pulled the pan from the oven, saw the clusters, and, in slo-mo, twirled around the kitchen in utter happiness. That last bit may or may not have occurred.

There are quite a lot of cranberries in this photo...someone's a camera hog.

There’s only one rule when eating this clustery granola, though (besides, of course, using your hands to eat it), is to have a cranberry in each bite. The tartness of the cranberry is the perfect foil for the  sweetness of the granola. It’s like a match made in heaven.

One last look at those beautiful clusters.

 

NB: Whoever made it through the whole post without going crazy from the copious use of the word “cluster,” I applaud you. You get a gold star this week.

Granola: Yay or Nay? (But who am I kidding? Everyone loves granola! Unless you don’t. Then that would make you not part of everyone. Awkward.)

9 thoughts on “The Ultimate Granola

  1. I have to come out of the woodworks and say I’m one of those rare people that don’t love granola. I love trail mix, which is sort of like granola except all the oats. It’s also like 10 times as fattening. I’m sure that’s why I love it.

  2. Not only have I not gone crazy from the use of the word ‘cluster’, but I’m totally butting in here to use it some more: I LOVE CLUSTERS. THAT IS ALL. And your clusters look awesome. And now the word ‘cluster’ has lost all meaning and actually looks a little bit rude…

  3. I only like clustery granola, but I’m with Evan – I prefer trail mix 🙂 Looks tasty though.

  4. Looks absolutely delicious!!! ❤ clusters!!! Recipe pleaseee??? I've only made granola 2 or 3 times since we've moved out. I need to change that. pronto. Miss youuuuu!!!!!!!!
    (too many exclamation points???)

    • It’s unconventional, but I think I’ll do a post on it when I make the next batch. Which will probably be, like, tomorrow, haha. Send me a wildly lengthy email about your summer.

  5. Pingback: It’s the Little Things Thursday « Un Bello Aperitivo

I'd love to hear your thoughts...please share!

