A Roll-Up the Rim Adventure

Newsflash: I am alive, contrary to popular belief. Being bored out of my mind at home makes me question the interesting-ness of my life.

Before I left school, there was one last thing I had to do, which was quite urgently important: redeem my “roll-up the rim.”

If you’re utterly confused, don’t worry. I had no idea what it was when I first came to school here. Let me ‘splain.

In parts of Canada and Western New York, there’s a coffee and doughnuts chain called “Tim Horton’s.” (Some people even affectionately refer to it as “Timmy Ho’s,” but I’m not down with that. At all.) People seem to worship Tim Horton’s much like SBUX, but I, uh, don’t really see what’s so great about it? I like SBUX.

Oh yes, I’ll have one of those, please. (source)

 Every spring they have this promotion, where if you buy a medium or larger drink, you get a special cup on which you can literally roll up the rim and see if you’ve won a prize. Now, I normally don’t frequent the Tim Horton’s on our campus, but I decided to try my luck one day. Guess what?

Yes, indeed. I won a free coffee.

I stashed away the cup to use for later and promptly forgot about it, until I was cleaning out my cupboards at the end of the year and discovered it. I had approximately 5 days to use it up before it expired. Whoops, gotta get on that.

I made a pilgrimage to Tim Horton’s before my last final. Since I don’t really like coffee, I hoped I could get a free tea. I stepped up to the counter.

Me: “Hi, can I get a small peppermint tea and a blueberry muffin (this was an impulse purchase)?”

Girl: “Small, okay…wait, what else did you want?” (perhaps this was a sign that I should NOT have gotten the muffin)

Me: “A blueberry muffin. Oh, and I also have this roll-up the rim thing.”

Girl: “Whoops, I’ll have to void your order. I forgot we were still honoring those.” (Yes, yes, I know…I waited til the last minute. Hey, free is free.)

Great. I got my free tea and muffin and went to print off my paper before the final.

So innocent.

I had really high hopes for this muffin. Usually I pass on blueberry muffins because they can be, well, gross, but this one appeared tasty, just like those jumbo Costco “muffins” from my childhood. They were pretty much an excuse to eat a HUGE slice of cake in muffin form. It was always great when my mom went out of town, because then my dad would take us to Costco and we’d get the muffins and pretty much whatever else our mom never bought. Thanks, Dad. 😉

Oh deliciousness… (source)

However, when I broke off a piece of the muffin, my Costco blueberry muffin dreams were crushed. Lesson 1: Don’t judge a book by it’s cover. The Tim Horton’s muffin was awful.

Don’t be fooled by its delectable appearance.

But at least the tea was delicious. It kept me amused during the epically-easy final and geared me up to finish battling with the mountains of stuff in my room. Seriously, how can one accumulate so much? Why did I think I needed two sets of highlighters or 3 packs of flashcards, since I use both once-in-a-blue-moon. Or 18,000 pens. I write a lot, but not that much.

But now I’ve been reunited with home, which actually has a SBUX. Maybe they have good blueberry muffins…

Question: If you’re from WNY or CA, please explain the rapture over Tim Horton’s. I want to know.

If you’re not from WNY or CA, what’s your favorite type of muffin?

4 thoughts on “A Roll-Up the Rim Adventure

I'd love to hear your thoughts...please share!

