Royal Wedding Hats

Happy Royal Wedding Day!

(If you’re not down with the wedding, or you’ve just heard too much about it, I sincerely apologize. I haven’t.)

After staying up late to attend a late-night Zumba class (that turned out being cancelled), my roomies and I got up at 5:45 to watch the wedding. Coverage started at 4, but we figured we only wanted to see the “good stuff.” My morning went like this:

“Knock, knock, knock!”

“It’s time!” (I jump out of bed, throw on my glasses, and run to plant myself on the couch.)

“Wow, I’ve only been up for less than a minute! Everything’s so bright!” (excited giggling commences)

I‘ve never been a hard person to wake up, and pretty much as soon as someone wakes me up, I’ll get up and function normally. I’m a total morning person. That being said, invite me to a party that lasts past 1 or 2 am and I pretty much shut down. I’m an old person. 😉

We oohed and aahed over the ceremony (and endured the endless choir-boy singing), then I left for the gym and oohed and aahed over the first kiss. I felt a little ridiculous that 50% of the time at the gym I had a huge grin on my face.

Is is just me or do they look strikingly like the Ugly Stepsisters from Cinderella?

I loved looking at the outfits. And the hats. It’s such a distinctly British tradition to wear hats. If you tried to wear one of those hats in America, you’d definitely end up in the “worse-dressed” category or be inspiration for a future Lady Gaga outfit. Whilst perusing photos online, I began to realize that I needed to educate myself about the types of hats out there. I kept coming across  all sorts of hat names, like “pillbox,” “fascinator,” or “swinger.”

What I learned:

Pillbox: 

Victoria Beckham

 or

Jackie Kennedy

Fascinator: (this is the most fun word ever)

Queen Sofia

or

And a whole bunch of other hats classified as either “mini hats” or “wide-brimmed hats”:

Now I’m itching to buy a fascinator…

What do you think about this hat business?

I'd love to hear your thoughts...please share!

