A Polish Easter, Part One

Happy Easter!

My mom’s side of the family is Polish, so most of the holidays we had growing up were heavily influenced by Polish traditions. And Polish words. And pierogi.

So this Easter was no different. We stopped by the famous Broadway Market in downtown Buffalo. The Market started in 1888 by Eastern European immigrants who wanted to preserve their heritage in America. It had primarily food stands, but today there are some other vendors selling crafts and other items.

I’m not very familiar with the market at all, but it was a really cool experience (and forgive the bad pictures…florescent lighting, enough said).

Apparently there’s a big thing for fresh horseradish. We picked some up at this stand.

There was an older Polish woman handling the horseradish and packing it for customers in canning jars. They were also selling homemade sauerkraut, which was delicious (we had it with what else, pierogi). You could buy a horseradish root, too. Have you ever seen one of these babies? They’re quite frightening in real life.

Gnarly.

There were also some delicious bakeries there. Rows and rows of delicious baked goods and people handing out chocolate samples (boo, Lent).

Oh look, black and white cookies...

And chocolate. CHOCOLATE…yum.

Chocolate-covered Peeps. There is an obsession, I tell you.

While I was walking around I kept noticing signs at booths for “Charlie Chaplin.” I deduced it was some kind of candy, but I’d never heard of it.

Sidenote: This reminds me of the (very recent) time I used the google.de (the German Google) to search for something German and saw that the Google logo was in memory of Charlie Chaplin, the person, which led me to believe that the Germans were obsessed with Charlie Chaplin. This misthought was quickly corrected when I went on the English Google and saw the same thing. Whoops, haha.

Anyway, I had to take a picture of it to remind me to look it up.

At first I thought it was a glob of sponge candy all stuck together, but on closer examination it looked like some kind of chocolate-covered marshmallow mass.

Sidenote 2: Do you like sponge candy? Have you tried it? I’m not its biggest fan. It’s basically a candy with a texture that’s hard to describe…it looks like a golden sponge, but it’s kind of sandpapery when you bite into it and melts on your tongue.

source

But back to Charlie Chaplin. I looked it up and found that it’s a traditional Buffalo candy that’s basically a mixture of chocolate, cashews, coconut, and marshmallows. Yes, please. This sounds beyond delicious, right?

Source

We left the market with pierogi (like I said…), Polish sausage, ham, Placek (Polish coffee cake), horseradish, sauerkraut, Makowiec (Polish poppyseed roll), cherry blossom cuttings, and pashminas (only $5; I got a hunter green color).

Placek

Makowiec

Both the Placek and Makowiec were from a bakery called “Chrusciki.” Because of my family’s apparent love of all words Polish, my sister adopted this word and began calling everything “chrusciki.” Scarf = “chrusciki.” Cheek = “chrusciki.” Dessert = “chrusciki.”

She's thinking "chrusciki."

So sorry. It had to be done.

Part Two to follow…

Have you heard of sponge candy or Charlie Chaplin? Tried it? Enlighten me.

3 thoughts on “A Polish Easter, Part One

I'd love to hear your thoughts...please share!

