Granola Obsession

Lately I’ve been obsessed with making granola. It’s just so. easy. And delicious.

And here’s the funny thing: I don’t like oatmeal.

 

Ewww, gross… (source)

I think it’s a textural thing. Yeah, that’s it. Or it could be the fact that when I was younger and enthralled with reading Highlights magazine, there was a recipe for chocolate oatmeal. CHOCOLATE oatmeal!?!? Wow.

I had visions of chocolately goodness dancing in my head as I prepared it. I sat down to eat it and…

It tasted awful. Like cocoa powder and oatmeal. Not good. Not good at all.

 

Well, THAT looks delicious... (source)

But, give me an oatmeal raisin cookie, oatmeal chocolate chip cookie (seriously, those things are so good), or a no bake oatmeal pb  cookie and I’m in heaven (figuratively, please…we don’t want a repeat of “Arsenic and Old Lace.”)

So during raw week I wanted something to snack on, and a raw granola recipe caught my eye. And so, from then on, oats and the dehydrator became my best friend. I started off with a simple apple spice version, then moved onto banana ginger, then back to ginger, and then to this most delicious combo.

Apple and chai tea. When the granola was dehydrating, a friend exclaimed that it smelled just like “home” in my apartment. Well, if that wasn’t high praise, I don’t know what is!

Apple Chai Granola with Currants

3 c raw oatmeal*

1.5 c apple sauce (if you’re going the raw route, just blend up some apples…it works like a charm, trust me)

0.5 c water

3 tea bags of chai tea

0.25 c honey

0.5 c currants

1 tsp vanilla extract

1 tsp almond extract

0.5 tsp salt

1. Simply combine all ingredients and spread out on dehydrator. Make sure that you don’t spread it too thin or clusters won’t form. The best way to do it is drop clusters of granola on the dehydrating tray.

2. Dehydrate for about 5 or 6 hours.

*If you want this to be all raw, make sure that your oats are certified raw. Most are streamed in the processing process (and I totally did not mean to use two forms of the same word right after each other, haha).

Look at that cluster!

 

Doesn't it just look so homey and cozy?

Seriously, this is so easy that you should make it. The combinations are endless! You can vary the nuts and dried fruit used.

I’ve been thinking about doing a “Recipes” tab. I think it would be helpful for the blog and also for me (when I absolutely can’t find a recipe I’m looking for in my blog). What do you think? Yes? No?

What’s your favorite granola combination? (I need some more ideas to feed my addiction!)

3 thoughts on “Granola Obsession

  1. I love the idea of a recipes tab. Sometimes I just browse recipes on blogs, so that would make it easier.

    I can’t believe you don’t love oatmeal! I eat it for breakfast every single morning. My dad’s like you…he’s always hated oatmeal because of the texture. That said…I don’t like granola because it’s too hard. It takes all types to make the world go round, right? 🙂

  2. Yes! Recipes tab! Sometimes I even post stuff that I warn is a “WIP” but I know otherwise I’ll forget it, and don’t want to! Sure I could write it on a piece of paper, but I am not that organized 😛
    This granola sounds so awesome. And it’s kinda nice to find a blogger who hates oatmeal 😛

I'd love to hear your thoughts...please share!

