The Three RAWskuteers

As part of my Lent sacrifice, two of my roommates and I are going “raw” for every other week during Lent. I’ve done raw before, so I knew it would be a challenge, but not as hard as going from eating frozen chicken nuggets to eating only raw fruits and veggies (here’s looking at you, roomie).

We’ve made a few exceptions, such as:

 

We decided to excuse condiments because they’re, well, condiments. Our favorite phrase this week? “Oh, that’s just a condiment.”

When my roommate bought roasted nuts instead of raw, we excused it with, “Condiment.”

When I ran out of carob powder and had to use cocoa powder, I excused it with, “Condiment.”

When my roommate ate a whole package of Chips-a-Hoy cookies, we excused it with, “Condiment.” (okay, just kidding…this did not happen, but there’s a very strong chance it might have…)

The first day went great; everyone was smiling, everyone was happy, the sun was shining, there were fluffy puppies to cuddle, rainbows everywhere….

Then came day 2. I walked in the apartment, smiling and happy, only to be greeted by death stares. I shall quote, “It smells like mushrooms and everyone here looks like they want to hurt me.” (quick, what movie is this from?) I was a little fearful for my life when one roommate remarked, “I don’t feel so good,” and the other one angrily commented, “I feel like (fill in your favorite four letter word).”

Whoops. What had I done? I was feeling great, but now obviously wasn’t the time to rub that in their faces.

But folks, we got over that hump, and I’m happy to say that on day five, at least one of my roommates agreed to stick with it for the other two weeks in Lent. Yay!

When I told a good friend I was eating raw this week, he remarked, “What are you going to eat? Apples and carrot sticks?” Umm…yes. Plus a lot of other tasty things, like:

  • Pineapple, carrot, and walnut coleslaw
  • Salted tomatoes
  • Fresh mango
  • DATES
  • Figs
  • Soaked, then dehydrated walnuts
  • Green smoothies
  • More green smoothies
  • Zucchini “pasta”

My roommate brought a dehydrator and was copiously using it, but I was focusing just on eating non-dehydrated food (for the most part). However, I remembered the awesome raw trail mix with dehydrated bananas that my mom made for our vacation this year, and I was suddenly overcome with the urge to dehydrate bananas.

When they turned out great, I just had to dehydrate a mango, too.

I had great plans to make guacamole, until I realized that avocados don’t freeze well. Not at all. However, these failed frozen avocados make excellent chocolate pudding/frosting.

Want to see some horrible pictures of what I’ve eaten? (I’m so sorry you have to endure this)

At least it has a pretty color, right? It tasted like heaven, though.

Sliced tomatoes with herbs, sliced apple with cinnamon, honey, and walnuts...

Zucchini "pasta"

How could you not have a good time eating food like this?

Have you ever gone raw? How’d you like it?

3 thoughts on “The Three RAWskuteers

  1. i can’t believe you got your roommates on the bandwagon, too! that’s awesome, even if there was a hump 😛
    those dehydrated bananas look fab…i really want a dehydrator lately.
    i’ve never done a raw diet…but i don’t know that i could do it! maybe for a day or two, but i don’t know about a whole week. i would be calling everything condiments at that point 😛 that said, raw diets really do fascinate me, and i wish it was “easier” to find raw things.

  2. I was raw for a month once…well, except for condiments. Haha! I actually really loved it. But it was summer and I had a garden and a farmer’s market bursting with fresh produce. My favourite raw dish is a 7-layer dip with walnut taco “meat”. Soooooo good!

  3. Pingback: The End of RAW Week 1 « Un Bello Aperitivo

I'd love to hear your thoughts...please share!

