Variety is the Spice of (My) Life

I like variety, especially in what I eat. Give me a “snack plate” of random foods over the traditional plated American meal any day. Case in point, last week, one of my meals consisted of little portions of cucumber salad, my deconstructed dolmades, sweet potatoes, hummus, and olive salad, and a roasted carrot and dijon lentil salad. Yes, I like variety.

This is also evidenced by the fact that I have five types of dried fruit in my cupboard:

Golden raisins, aka "sultanas" in the UK...

(source)

Kalamata Figs

(source)

Black Mission Figs

(source)

Deglet Noors Dates

(source)

Medjool Dates

(source)

See, it’s true…I like variety.

What was great was the variety of V-Day treats I got.

From my aunt:

Apricots dipped in chocolate and crushed walnuts

Bark with pistachios, dried cranberries, and crystallized ginger

And from my yoga instructor:

Moon cakes!

Not very sweet, these mooncakes are filled with a sweet bean paste. It was first time trying these, and the textures were quite different than anything I’ve tried before. The pastry on the outside was tender, while the inside was thick and dense; definitely pastey. It tasted a little floral and kind of tropical. It wasn’t love at first bite, but I think it’s because it was just so different. But now I’m a convert; these were delicious.

Do you like variety in your foods or do you tend to stick to one, favorite type?

I'd love to hear your thoughts...please share!

