A Long-Lost Love: Digestive Biscuits

This summer, whilst in Italy, did I eat pasta? Nope.

Pizza? Nope (just cheeseless, and I’m not counting that).

Lasagne? Nope.

Gelato? Okay, yes on this one, but anyway…

Crema and fior di latte

Digestive biscuits? BINGO.

(source)

Not being from Europe, I couldn’t tell you the first time I had a digestive biscuit. It could have been when I was a wee babe; it could have been at a party; it could have been never and I’m just imagining that I ate these tasty little cookies.

But regardless, something awoke inside of me when I spotted these on shelves in the Italian grocery store. And they subsequently never left my side.

Actually, they did. Having a package of digestive biscuits glued to your hip is kind of hard to pull off while at work in a luxury hotel. Awkward.

So yesterday, in my infinite amount of free time, I came across a recipe for digestive biscuits. So I swiped some oatmeal from one of my roommates and got to work. Maybe they were butterless, maybe I baked them 10 minutes too long (what??? Lack of butter definitely calls for extra time in the crisper), maybe they’re not in perfect circles, but I do know one thing: they’re delicious.

Digestive Biscuits

adapted from this recipe

1 cup oatmeal, finely ground into a powder

1 cup whole wheat flour

0.5 molasses (I used a combo of molasses and honey)

3-4 TBL olive oil

1 tsp baking soda

2 heavy pinches salt

1. Combine dry ingredients.

2. Combine wet ingredients.

3. Combine the two together. Form into balls and flatten on cookie sheet.

4. Bake at 325 for 15 minutes.

They taste very similar to a graham cracker when they first come out of the oven, but the flavor develops over time. They’re not exactly the same taste, but they’re delicious nonetheless.

2 thoughts on “A Long-Lost Love: Digestive Biscuits

  1. I haven’t tried making this myself, but it looks like a great recipe.I followed you from the foodieblogroll and I’d love to guide Foodista readers to your site. I hope you could add this biscuit method widget at the end of this post so we could add you in our list of food bloggers who blogged about how to make biscuits,Thanks!

I'd love to hear your thoughts...please share!

