Smokey Chipotle Chocolate Cookies

Happy Valentine’s Day!

Oh gee, thanks, you shouldn't have...

(source)

I didn’t wear red today. Oops. I didn’t get flowers. But I did get a large box of Frangos.

Seriously, give me a box of fancy-pants assorted chocolates and I’ll be happy as a clam. Though I’m not sure clams are happy. I think they’d be quite uncomfortable, you know, sitting all clamped up at the bottom of the ocean.

Yes, as happy as these clams...

(source)

I know many people have negative connotations associated with this holiday (like those clams), but I see it as a day for celebrating everyone you love, including yourself.

And because I love myself, I went to three classes, work, and meetings today. What love.

But to make up for it, I made these cookies.

Smokey Chipotle-Chocolate Cookies

(loosely adapted from this recipe)

1 cup whole wheat flour

0.25 cup brown sugar

2 TBL dark cocoa powder

2 TBL carob powder

dash salt

1 tsp baking powder

0.5 tsp baking soda

0.25 cup honey

1 canned chipotle pepper, minced

0.5 cup nuts of your choice, finely chopped

2 TBL oil

0.5 cup applesauce

1. Combine all ingredients (or if you want to get really fancy, combine the dry and wet separately, then mix together…or you can just do the easy way).

2. Drop onto greased baking sheets and bake for 6 minutes at 325.

3. Let cool for one minute before removing to wire racks to cool.

This makes a smokey, cakey cookie perfect for V-Day.

One thought on “Smokey Chipotle Chocolate Cookies

I'd love to hear your thoughts...please share!

