Beer Bread, Take II

Remember my first take on beer bread? I decided to try again. But more on that later.

Have you ever had a pomelo? Apparently, it’s supposed to taste like a grapefruit and has an extremely thick rind.

When I was grocery shopping last weekend, I saw one and decided to snatch it up. It was huge! I cut it open and revealed a pink flesh that looked suspiciously similar to a 70s “groovy” flower.

(source)

It was a beast to peel, but the combination of the light pink pith and the lime green rind was…groovy. (Sorry, I had to). I cut in quarters, and it took probably 20 minutes to eat it, it was so time consuming. It tasted like a mild grapefruit and the texture was firmer than a grapefruit. There were more little sections in it then a grapefruit. I liked it and would totally buy it again, if it weren’t so expensive!

Now back to the beer.

Last time the bread was okay, but it wasn’t stellar. This time around I wanted the texture to be more like quick bread, as opposed to a traditional, yeast-risen dough, and for it to be sweeter than regular bread. I played around with a recipe and am happy on how it turned out, but next time I think I’ll use a darker beer.

This is a cross between quick bread and yeast bread in terms of moistness and, like most good things, gets better the next day.

Whole Wheat Beer Bread

3 cups wheat flour

2 tsp baking powder

2 TBL molasses

0.25 tsp salt

12 oz beer

0.25 cup water (or extra beer, if you feel like cracking open another one)

Preheat oven to 400. Combine dry ingredients, mix in wet ingredients. Do not overmix. Scoop batter into oiled loaf pan and bake for 40 minutes, or until toothpick comes out clean. Cool in pan for 10 minutes, remove to wire rack.

Good to the last crumb...

I'd love to hear your thoughts...please share!

