Roasty, Toasty Carrots

I love eating out.

But let me clarify. I love eating out a fancy-pants restaurants.

What I love even more is eating at fancy-pants vegetarian restaurants. Just kidding. I’ve (unfortunately) never been to one.

So, at “normal” restaurants, I’m usually relegated to the sides section of the menu, since I’m not a fan of pasta. At all. I’m anti-pasta! Haha, get it? (okay, sorry, my apologies)

It’s rare when a steakhouse has great sides, but Wildfire does. Their balsamic veggies don’t have the cloyingly (as much as I hate it, there’s just no other word to describe this phenomenon) sweet balsamic coating that you’d typically see, but instead have a light, not-too-sweet glaze. Their roasted mushrooms! Their bbq rubbed sweet potatoes! Their raisin-walnut brown bread!

I’ll stop waxing poetic about Wildfire and get to the real nitty-gritty.

I went for a fabulous farewell dinner with three of my high school friends at the White Chocolate Grill a few weeks ago. I had been there a few times before, but never as a vegetarian, and their menu leaves a few things to be desired. I ordered the plain-Jane broccoli, but was intrigued by their honey-roasted carrots.

When I got back to school, I bought the “club size” carrot bag. Whaaat? It was saving me money, seriously. Um, sort of. Anyway, I’ve seen a few recipes floating around on the web for pb covered veggies like carrots and sweet potatoes. Why not? Just, why not?

PB-Covered Roasted Carrots

3 large carrots

1 TBL peanut butter

1 tsp freshly grated ginger

dash of salt

Combine all ingredients and roast at 400 for about 25-30 minutes, or until carrots are tender.

Batter Up!...well, sort of...awkward...

Evenly coated carrots

Deliciously crispy crust of peanut buttery goodness...

I'd love to hear your thoughts...please share!

