The 12 (Baking) Days of Christmas: Day Eleven

We’re almost done, folks.

Two Turtle Doves. “Excellent,” thought I, “I’ll make candy turtles.” In a perfect world, this would have worked out.

Except I didn’t have any whole walnuts. “Okay,” thought I, “no problem. I’ll just make my favorite Girl Scout Cookies…samoas.”

Instead, I found I fail at making caramel. Again. I even looked up recipes online, and they all seemed to haphazardly throw together sugar and water, then add some sort of cream or milk at the end.

In a perfect world, my cookies would have looked like this:

(source)

Instead, it ended up looking like this:

Fail. Ultimate fail.

The caramel was crunchy.

I decided to try it again using caramel made with dates; I figured I couldn’t mess that one up.

Apparently I can.

The Turtles That Weren’t

 

I blended dates, lemon juice, salt, and a little sugar together...

Dough balls!

Post-bowl smooshing...

Topped with toasted coconut…
…and chocolate.

The cookies were good, just not samoa good. And I realized after making these that they no longer bore any resemblance to the turtles that I had intended to make. Whoops.

On a positive note, I found $5 today.*

*Well, I wish I did. I just had to end the post on a positive note…

 

2 thoughts on “The 12 (Baking) Days of Christmas: Day Eleven

  1. Pingback: The 12 (Baking) Days of Christmas: Day 12 « Un Bello Aperitivo

I'd love to hear your thoughts...please share!

