The 12 (Baking) Days of Christmas: Day 4

Twelve drummers drumming, eleven pipers piping, ten lords a-leaping, and now nine ladies dancing…

I wanted to create a dainty, ladylike cookie for today. My mind drifted to high tea in Buckingham Palace with Camilla and Charles (the Queen wasn’t in): watercress and cucumbers sandwiches on fluffy white bread with the crusts cut off, steaming pots of tea, intricately painted-china, lemon tea cakes, bestowing of the family fortune upon me…ahem, I mean I was thinking of the petite-fours, the French arch-nemesis  of the English tea cake/biscuit.

Yes, what an excellent thought. I’d bake up a simple yellow cake, cut it into layers, and paint them with raspberry jam. Then I’d enrobe the dainty sweets in a coating of dark chocolate. What I wasn’t prepared for was the earthquake.

Things started out as planned. The cake baked up beautifully, sans eggs (and this happened on purpose, for clarification), cooled beautifully, and smelled beautifully. But when I went to lift it and cut it into squares, big, fault-line breaks started to marble the exterior. I tried to be optimistic, thinking I could salvage the cake, but alas, all was lost.

My mind went to plan B, which, ironically, was also the plan B of my roommate. What can I say, great minds think alike. Plan B = cake balls. If you’ve never heard of them, they’re simply made by taking a baked cake, crumbling it, then mixing it with frosting and rolling it into balls. The balls are then covered with chocolate or some other kind of confectionary coating.

I don’t know about you, but that sounds like insta-diabetes to me. Still, I’d never made them before, so I tweaked it. I crumbled up the marred cake (don’t worry, you are still beautiful on the inside), mixed in some raspberry jam (I had to include jam somehow, right?), froze them for a bit, then dipped them in a chocolate coating.

Though the combination of the raspberry jam and the cake left the inside of the cake balls looking like overmixed blueberry muffin batter, it tasted amazing. And it still fulfilled the dainty, ladylike dessert bill.

Nine Ladies’ Chocolate Raspberry Cake Balls

White wheat pastry flour, brown rice flour, baking powder, baking soda

Almond milk, olive oil, vinegar

Right before the 'quake...

Crumbled cake and JAM

Apparently red + yellow = blue

That’s one beautiful dessert.

One thought on “The 12 (Baking) Days of Christmas: Day 4

  1. Pingback: The 12 (Baking) Days of Christmas: Day 12 « Un Bello Aperitivo

I'd love to hear your thoughts...please share!

