The 12 (Baking) Days of Christmas: Day 1

Since it’s already 5 December (gasp), I thought it was due time to stand in the kitchen all afternoon, covered in flour, singing Bruno Mars, and doing burpees in between baking sessions. And by that I mean baking Christmas cookies!

But not your ordinary, run-of-the-mill 12-25 Days of Christmas cookie celebration. Oh no. These 12 days will feature unique cookies based on the wonderful song that we all know and love (and forget the words to): The Twelve Days of Christmas.

So, without further ado, I present Day 1: Twelve Drummers Drumming

I was sitting outside under a tree, wondering what cookie I could make that would represent a drummer. A drum-shaped cut-out cookie? Nah, too boring, nevermind the fact that I strongly dislike cutout cookies of all kinds. A life-size chocolate drum? A ginormous drum cake that I could pop out of?

Then it hit me. On the head actually. I felt a bit like Newton and the apple as I picked up the good ole New York buckeye that hit me on the head. “Brilliant,” I thought, “I’ll make buckeyes!” *

Why buckeyes? The sound they make falling is like the sound of a drum, just like 12 drummers drumming…

Twelve Drummers’ Buckeyes

PB, almond milk, brown sugar, vanilla

Wheat flour, baking powder, picture of me

Take them for a dip in chocolate...

*Events and names may have been changed due to privacy issues. Also, events may be purely fictional, but hey, believe what you want.

4 thoughts on “The 12 (Baking) Days of Christmas: Day 1

  1. Pingback: The 12 (Baking) Days of Christmas: Day 2 « Un Bello Aperitivo

  2. Pingback: The 12 (Baking) Days of Christmas: Day 4 « Un Bello Aperitivo

  3. Pingback: The 12 (Baking) Days of Christmas: Day 6 « Un Bello Aperitivo

  4. Pingback: The 12 (Baking) Days of Christmas: Day 12 « Un Bello Aperitivo

I'd love to hear your thoughts...please share!

