Buh-buh-buh-beer Bread

I woke up this morning feeling like P. Diddy with an intense craving for beer bread. Yes, beer bread. I haven’t had any for years, but I did have some beer and all the ingredients to make it, so maybe  my little brain put together the pieces while I was sleeping. I guess I had visions of beer-bread dancing in my head…

Poor Food and Beverage Cost Control didn’t even stand a chance. All through class and work I was thinking about when I could get back and make the bread. Even all the raspberry jam in the world couldn’t help.

When I was finally released from my bondage, I tore through campus like a banshee (and I probably looked like one, too, considering it was snowing and I wasn’t wearing a proper coat. Whoops.). I found this recipe after binging “beer bread recipes.” Classy, I know. It seemed like a simple recipe, and I had limited time until I had to go to Zumba, so I quickly whipped it up.

Yes, that was way too much oil to grease the pan.

What was leftover from Thanksgiving...hey, beggars can't be choosers.

Glug, glug, glug...

I'm probably the worst beer pourer in the world...

This will definitely turn out to be a craggy bread...

What a beautiful rise.

And a beautiful crumb.

The bread was quite easy to put together, but it wasn’t “beery” enough for me. There’s just a slight aftertaste. I think next time I’ll either add more beer or more sugar. This loaf could definitely pass as wheat sandwich bread.

Perhaps a little lemon spread would perk it up? My sister and I had a Canadian babysitter that made us beer pancakes. She topped them with a simple mixture of lemon juice and sugar, and this combined with the beer pancakes made an incredible explosion of flavors (I just wanted to use that phrase…).

My beer bread craving has been vanquished…for now. Who know when it will return…

One thought on “Buh-buh-buh-beer Bread

  1. Pingback: Beer Bread, Take II « Un Bello Aperitivo

I'd love to hear your thoughts...please share!

