Banana Muffins, 3 Ways

Now, I know banana bread can be rather boring sometimes. Bland, oily, and filled with gross grey chunks of unmashed banana (now I’m starting to sound like those negative Cooks Illustrated food writers). Before I left for NYC, I had some very ripe bananas chilling on the counter. I was determined to make tasty banana bread with them, but didn’t have time, so I stashed them in the freezer. Black bananas, anyone?

I also wanted to make muffins. Muffins taste so much better than bread. Probably because they’re closer to cake than anything.

I was certainly not going to go the banana-nut route, and I decided on a tropical muffin with coconut. However, as I was getting the coconut out of the cupboard, Mr. Caraway was staring me down. Kind of like this:

It looks innocent enough, until you feel its eyes on you ALL THE TIME. (source)

So I decided to make a tropical AND a savory banana muffin.

Then my roommate walked in and saw my ginger root and suggested making ginger chocolate muffins. Not being one to back down from a challenge, I decided to make all three. I made the basic batter, then separated it into threes and added the special ingredients.

Basic Banana Muffins (that you can change to make anything BUT basic)

4 small, very ripe bananas

1 cup whole wheat flour

0.5 cup brown rice flour

0.5 cup loosely packed brown sugar

2 TBL olive oil

0.75 tsp salt

1 tsp vanilla

0.75 cup almond milk

2 tsp. baking powder

1 tsp lemon juice

1.5 tsp baking soda

Optional add-ins: coconut, crystallized ginger, chocolate chips, caraway seeds, golden raisins

Mix dry ingredients together.

Add wet ingredients in the most unattractive fashion ever.

Now separate batter into bowls and add special ingredients. Then, bake at 375 degrees for about 18-20 minutes.

Add in coconut and top with banana slice.

Coconut Banana Muffin

Add caraway seeds and golden raisins.

Irish Banana Bread

Add chopped crystallized ginger and chocolate chips.

Ginger Chocolate Banana Muffins

Honestly, the possibilities are endless. And all of these versions were delicious. Must be because good things come in 3s.

I'd love to hear your thoughts...please share!

