This Post Will Change Your Life*

*It certainly changed mine.

A few friends of mine went to Alice’s Tea Cup in NYC last weekend, and one thankfully brought a menu back for me to look at (which I gladly did during Food Cost and Control Wednesday morning). I was really intrigued by their Cumin Carrot sandwich (“with olive tapenade and goat cheese on semolina with black sesame seeds”). At first I imagined a piece of bread with raw carrots lined up in a row on it. Umm…that’s not appetizing.

So all during class my little mind was working out how I could make this. I assumed they’d roasted the carrots. I decided I would thinly slice mine in rectangles and roast them. I binged some pictures online and found a few that showed the sandwich piled high with uber-thinly sliced carrots, pretty much resembling a pastrami sandwich. So my hunch about thinly sliced carrots was right.

I wasn’t going to put cheese on it, so I figured some garlic hummus would do the trick. I also had some naan saved in the freezer from a while ago, and decided to use that as the bread. Of course, this would be great as a salad, too. I’m totally trying that next.

You need to make this sandwich. Really. Here, I’ll even give you pictures (since they’re easier than reading AND they’re worth a thousand words, so if I were writing an essay, I’d probably be done in mere seconds as opposed to hours…)

Roasted Carrot Sandwich

inspired by Alice’s Tea Cup

2 medium carrots, peeled

2 TBL hummus of choice (I’d use plain or garlic)

5-6 assorted olives (use kalamata or green from the olive bar…jarred olives won’t do it justice)

2 small cloves garlic, peeled

1 naan

1 tsp lemon juice

0.5 tsp olive oil

2 TBL molasses

1.5 tsp cumin

Turn these...

...into these by thinly slicing the carrots in rectangles 0.25 in thick and 2 in long, then tossing with molasses and cumin.

Roast at 375 degrees for about a half hour or until tender...

For the tapenade: Roast the garlic with the carrots, then throw it in the food processor with the oil, olives, and lemon juice. Blend.

Hummus so good you can eat it straight up on a spoon.

The inconspicuous naan...it doesn't know what it's in for.

Cut naan in half and spread both sides with hummus. Top on half with as many carrots as humanly possible (and if you're not a human, feel free to pile them as high as your species can).

Spread on that delicious tapenade and take in the heavenly scent.

Stack it up.

Admire its beauty...

Prepare to be amazed.

Seriously, though it might sound odd at first, this sandwich has the perfect mix of flavors and textures. It’s a terrific cold sandwich. If you try it and it changes your life, I’ll take your testimonies in the comment section.

What’s the oddest sandwich you’ve ever had?

 

I'd love to hear your thoughts...please share!

