Bakewells Bake Well

Remember my piernik?

I had a little leftover dough and decided to get creative. Since it was a loose dough, I figured it would adapt well to muffins. And since I like muffins, this was a win-win situation.

I decided to make  my take on a Bakewell tart, an English confection consisting of frangipane and raspberry jam in a tart shell.

(source)

I used the muffin batter as the “crust,” then added raspberry jam in the middle and topped it with a chocolate coconut mixture left over from my Mounds attempt.

In goes the jam!

Chocolate coconut topping

Mmm...look at that warm, oozing jam...

Though slightly different than your traditional Bakewell, these are the perfect tea treats. There’s nothing better than warm jam-filled spicy muffins on a cold day with a mug of tea.

I'd love to hear your thoughts...please share!

