Falafel Fail

I’ve been thinking about falafel for a while. Like a really, really long time. Most recently after I had it in a restaurant in London. It was amazing. I was slightly put off  by the vibrant green interior, but once I bit into it, I changed my mind.

I’ve perused recipes for baked falafel, fried falafel, raw falafel, and sweet potato falafel. But I never got around to making it. Until now…

I had the not so brilliant idea of using chickpea flour instead of pureed chickpeas. I bought a bunch of parsley. I figured I could just wing the recipe.

I chopped...

I sauteed...

I caramelized...

I added a little bit of this and a little bit of that...

I mixed...

I then failed to take any pictures of the rest of the process (read: the fail) and just moved on to the finished product...

They turned out more like biscuits than anything else...

Where was the creamy interior? The crisp outside? Where? WHERE?

To console myself from my ultimate fail, I sat in a corner and cried for three hours straight while eating chocolate bon-bons straight out of the box. Kidding. Just kidding.

I actually made myself some Vanilla Roiboos tea (my favorite) and studied. Lame. I know. (Maybe I should have listened to this. It always cheers me up.) Then I went to a hockey game. We lost. Apparently it was just a fail day for everyone.

Does anyone have a good recipe for baked falafel? Preferably one that doesn’t turn out like a biscuit?

I'd love to hear your thoughts...please share!

