A Whole New Spread…

I’ve been neglecting my outfits.

And by “neglecting,” I mean I haven’t shown any for, gasp, a whole day.

I know, I know. But don’t worry, I plan on making it up to you. Oh yeah, just wait.

But first I have to share a recipe. I’ve got to. Please?

Great. Because I’m going to do it anyway.

So, I came across an interesting food item while reading blogs. Speculoos spread? Yes please. It’s basically crushed up biscoff cookies that are made into a spread. I’m 99.9% sure that they don’t sell it at the grocery store near me, so I had to take drastic measures.

I bought a box of ginger thins at the store last week because they were out of Biscoff (I know, please control your sobbing, I was quite upset too). I had high hopes for these little, crunchy, Swedish cookies. I had visions of them dancing in my head, in an area that looked suspiciously like the IKEA food court. Tingling with anticipation, I took a nibble off of the edge. It made a nice satisfying snap and threw little ginger thin confetti crumbs throughout the air. I chewed. I swallowed. I thought to myself, “This is the worst ginger thin I’ve ever had.” And the scene came to a screeching halt.

“Well, I can’t have this,” I thought to myself. “I must use these cookies in some fashion instead of throwing them away. Remember those starving children in Africa.” And so I documented the evidence.

I used my frustration at the disappointment of the lackluster cookies to crush them and freshly grate some ginger.

I got supreme satisfaction out of creaming those babies with my food processor. Then I added some cinnamon and nutmeg.

I added a couple splashes of almond milk and processed it into a smooth paste.

Who knew something so vile, so revolting could be turned into something so rich, so complex, so utterly fantastic? It’s pretty much like an autumn Nutella. I’m thinking this spread on a sweet potato would be fabulous. But you didn’t hear it from me.

Remember my turtleneck squirmish? Well, let’s just say that someone said to me today, “Don’t you like, wear that outfit all the time?” “Umm…no? Pssht, just like, once a week,” I offhandedly replied, while sheepishly thinking to myself, “Yes, yes I do.”

So I took a quick snapshot before I headed off to class.

I'd love to hear your thoughts...please share!

