The Eye of the…Potato.

While scrounging for some sustenance (read: something without sugar…I’ve got to pace myself, you know) for dinner last night before the Halloween party, I chanced upon a lovely root vegetable. Unfortunately it didn’t look so lovely. It was pretty much akin to this:

Just kidding. I meant like this:

(source)

 

So I figured that would make a great dinner and a great time to use some up. I wasn’t feeling mashed, baked, or sauteed. Then I remembered. Epic holiday dinner accompaniment: twice-baked potatoes. My mom would always make the cream cheesy, toasty potatoes for Thanksgiving and Christmas, and I certainly enjoyed them more than the other main stars (however, if these dinner had included sweet potatoes, there would have been some kind of showdown).

However, my friends, knowing me you’d know that these wouldn’t be your traditional twice-baked potatoes. Oh no. Just watch and see.

Honey Dijon Walnut Twice Baked Potatoes

2 baking potatoes

0.25 cup honey dijon mustard

0.5 cup spinach, chopped

0.3 cup walnuts, crushed (if you’ve got anger management issues, crushing these with your palms is great!)

salt

0.5 cup almond milk

1 small onion

1 clove garlic

2 TBL olive oil

1. Bake your potatoes, baby.

2. Slice them lengthwise.

There should be four halves. If not, please consult your First Grade Mathbook.

3. Carefully scoop out the insides into a large bowl, leaving a wall of potato “flesh” (meat? innards? sweetbread?)

Woah there, Nelly! Don't get too overeager or the walls of Jericho will come a-tumblin' down...

4. Mince onion. My mother used to pulverize those babies because my sister and I refused to eat “the ones with the onions in them.” Back then, onions were the enemy. However, if you’re not 10 years old, you might dice the onions instead, leaving delicious chunks.

5. Paste your garlic. You’ll have garlic flavor evenly distributed throughout your dish, with no unpleasant garlic chunks to bite into (especially useful if you’re a vampire). Never done it before? Let me show you how.

Salt, meet garlic.

(Peeled and once-overed) Garlic meet salt.

Scrape garlic and salt together with your knife blade until you get something that resembles this. Got it? Then keep going, you're not done until it looks like...

...this.

6. Add the milk and oil to the potatoes.

7. Add everything else!

8. Mix it all up with a fork until it looks like this:

8. Carefully stuff the mixture back into the potato shells.

9. Top with additional crushed walnuts, if desired.

10. Bake in a 400 degree oven for…a while. Honestly I got too eager and took mine out when it was warm. I’d recommend leaving it in longer, til it gets piping hot.

Toasty walnut topping...

And there you have it. The perfect aperitivo to a sugar-coma night.

I'd love to hear your thoughts...please share!

