Black and White*

Sometimes the simpler, the classier something is.

Even though hummus is on sale at the local grocery store (and has been for the past month, which makes me question if it’s even a sale), I decided not to shell out 3 bucks but instead make my own from the 58 cents can at a certain store that starts with “W” and ends with “Almart.” I’m sorry to say I shop there. Please forgive me, sanity.

I decided to whip up an easy dip to eat with my abundance of cucumbers, so I present:

Garlic Honey Mustard Dip

1 can black beans (really, any bean will work)

1 clove garlic, peeled

1.5 TBL honey dijon mustard

1. I’m not kidding. There are three ingredients.

2. Now that we’re all on the same page, place your beans in a food processor and blend. They should look something like this:

Yes, I know, my inability to take clear pictures is probably killing you right now. Please bear with me (and that lone bean chilling at the right of the food processor).

3. Now add the remaining ingredients. Since this is a complicated step, I’ve got a picture for you:

This wins the "Most Attractive Picture of the Day" award.

4. Blend it up, baby.

 

After this exhilarating rendezvous with black bean dip, I decided to keep it simple and make my amazing Balsamic and Greens Mashed Potatoes. They were delicious. I even served them with a simple salad dressed with warmed honey mustard dressing, a trick I learned from a good friend.

Naturally, after all this eating, I was keen on baking something. What better than to attempt whole wheat pita. I crossed my fingers and hoped that they’d turn out better than my naan.

Well, they taste yummy but definitely don’t have the signature pocket. Hmm…

Keeping with today’s theme of black and white, I bring you my outfit, inspired by Coco Chanel. Sort of.

Apparently most of my left forearm has been eaten by the sun. Must be magic.

There. Much better.

Jacket: H&M

Pearls: from Grandma

Tank top: GAP

Skirt: GAP

*The use of the term “white” may include off-white, tan, and ivory. The exact color of the product cannot be guaranteed (aka: “deal with it” or “you don’t get to choose the toy you get in your Happy Meal, kid”).

I'd love to hear your thoughts...please share!

