Sweet Thang

Ever since I was a wee child, I’ve had a longing for these deliciously crumbly cookies that I remembered but didn’t know where I’d had them. But they were not something I just dreamed up. It was all just a faint memory, glowing dim as an ember (song quote alert).

Enter Summer 2010. Enter Europe. Enter…BISCOFF.

These cookies are the bomb. They’re like ginger snaps, without the ginger. They blow my mind.

They're so good, they chameleon into the same color as my desk so they can't be eaten...

I hope you're feeling the love...

 

So, naturally, after my success in finding Biscoff cookies in the middle of nowhere, I moved to greener pastures to find something I knew would be available: Nutella. In Italy my roommate and I would eat out of the gigantic jar (hey, we’re Americans, we bought the economy size, but funny thing: bigger isn’t cheaper in Europe. Whoops.) with our tiny gelato spoons. That didn’t deter us from ingesting large quantities of it.

I heard the nasty little rumor that American Nutella tasted different than European Nutella. Naturally, I had to test this theory. It’s a tough job, but someone’s gotta do it.

Difference #1: It did not come in a glass jar. Apparently Americans cannot be trusted.

Difference #2: Obviously, it was not made in Italy. Or anywhere in Europe, in fact. It was made in…gasp, Canada. Let’s hope they can make Nutella better than they can drive.

Difference #3: It was not…how shall I say it, cohesive. Rather, it was kind of gloppy.

Despite its less-than-stellar performance so far, I was wary of taking a lick. I took a little spoonful and swirled it around. It pretty much tasted the same. But I want to say it was sweeter. I’m not really sure if that’s possible, since the first ingredient listed is sugar. Hmmm…if I had an industrial food processor, I would make my own, but I’m pretty sure the food processor that can’t grind up frozen bananas won’t be able to do a number on toasted hazelnuts.

It was a nice trip down memory lane. Biscoff. Nutella. Turtlenecks.

Wait, I don’t like turtlenecks.

To make a long story short, I ended up with someone else’s purple turtleneck (mom). I came home from Italy, went straight to packing for college, and saw a purpley shirt in my closet. Ooo, look at the elongated ribbed cuffs, the gathered seams at the shoulders, the volume in the sleeves. Then I saw it. The turtleneck.

Honestly, it nearly ruined the whole shirt. I don’t. like. turtlenecks. At all. But I loved the sleeves so much I decided to give it a try.

Because everyone loves a good mirror shot...

Turtleneck: The closet

Skirt: H&M

Necklace: Banana Republic

Shoes: Sam Edelman

What a sincerely unflattering picture. However, it made me laugh because it looks like it's from one of those mirrors that distorts you: big head, small body, crooked eyes...

And you know what? It worked.

But I still don’t like turtlenecks.

I'd love to hear your thoughts...please share!

