Rose Cornmeal Tea Biscuits

My plan for grocery budget shopping is to buy what I need for a week (or two…I’ve realized that no, I cannot eat an entire head of cauliflower in a week unless I eat it everyday, which I’m not about to do) and then buy one splurge item, like something from the bulk bin or an expensive (it’s all relative) chocolate bar. Keep in mind this is “in theory,” because, let’s face it, it hasn’t happened.

It’s an on-going process.

But, while I was at the grocery store, I found some teas on sale. Perusing the various types, I was just about to pick out an orange chai flavor when I spotted rose tea. It reminded me of the Turkish Delight my mother bought for me from a Lebanese restaurant – chewy candy scented with rose, dotted with pistachios, and heavily dusted with airy powdered sugar. Into the cart it went.

After I put my pumpkin chai biscotti in the oven, I was still feeling creative. I had a whole bunch of ideas swarming around in my head: tea cookies, lavender-scented shortbread, sweet cornbread. By some stroke of luck, these ideas all boiled down into one: rose cornmeal tea biscuits. It’s all vegan and turns out somewhat like a cross between a tea cake and a tea biscuit. The cornmeal and rose complement each other for a light, sweet rose-scented treat.

Rose Cornmeal Tea Biscuits

1/3 cup yellow cornmeal

1/3 cup wheat flour

1/3 cup rice flour

1/4 cup brown sugar

2 rose tea bags

1/2 cup almond milk

2 tsp. baking powder

dash salt

1. Combine all dry ingredients.

2. Pour in almond milk in increments until the batter forms a loose dough.

3. Form balls roughly the size of ping-pong balls and flatten them into disks.

4. Place on greased cookie sheet and bake for 10 minutes at 350 degrees, or until cookies are firm to the touch.

Fall Fashion:

I parted my hair on the opposite side today. Crucial point in the development of the outfit.

Today I wore I white blouse, faux pearls, my pink alligator BCBG heels (which are extremely comfortable), a black belt with a gold buckle, and a skirt that used to be a dress, courtesy of my sister.

The sun wanted to get in on the picture too, only he pretty much ruined the whole thing. We don’t really have a great relationship; it’s on the rocks.

Because taking pictures in your vanity mirror is just too much fun.

I'd love to hear your thoughts...please share!

