In a Baking Frenzy

I had just purchased wheat flour to make naan, which, as it turns out, doesn’t work very well without yogurt or milk. Whoops. Nevertheless, I had some tasty, crispy flatbread.

I decided to challenge myself to baking something vegan, mostly because buying butter and eggs would be another expense on my grocery budget that wouldn’t be justified by a one time use. I settled on biscotti, since I had a hankering for something to nibble on with my tea. I searched around for recipes. Some said biscotti absolutely cannot be made without eggs, some warned that the texture would be different, others gave the go ahead. Would this deter me? Absolutely not.

An important side note: I strongly dislike following directions. I prefer to figure it out on my own, which includes cooking and baking. For most of my recipes, I look at some ideas online, then go into the kitchen and make something completely different than I intended. All I need are rough guidelines.

I perused some online recipes but didn’t find anything suitable to what I wanted. I didn’t have any chocolate, so that was out of the question. But pumpkin? That I did have. I saw, somewhere, online something that was made with chai tea leaves. My creative-side kicked in double-time. I quickly scribbled down the base recipe for the biscotti and ran into the kitchen.

I totally destroyed the recipe and came up with my own.

Pumpkin Chai Biscotti

2 cups whole wheat flour

0.5 cup brown rice flour

0.5 cup chickpea flour

1 TBL baking powder

0.5 tsp salt

0.5 cup organic brown sugar

2 teabags of organic chai tea

1 tsp cinnamon

2/3 cup canned pumpkin

0.25 cup olive oil

1.5 tsp vanilla extract

0.25-0.5 cup almond milk

1. Mix all dry ingredients together.

2. Make a well in the dry ingredients and add all wet ingredients, except the almond milk. Mix well.

3. Add almond milk in increments until the dough pulls together and feels like a biscuit dough

4. Shape the dough into a log about 14 inches long and 5 inches wide and place on an oiled baking sheet. Bake at 350 degrees for 30 minutes.

5. Cut the log into 15 bars and return the baking sheet to the oven for another 25-30 minutes, or until the biscotti become light brown around the edges.

6. Let cool before enjoying.

Whilst I was baking these, I felt the urge to continue baking, so I whipped up a rather large batch of batter for socca, but I devoured that before any pictures. Don’t worry, I have the leftover batter in the fridge, waiting for the next opportune moment. I also came up with a wonderful idea for a vegan cookie, completely not based on any recipe, proportions, or anything, but I’ll share that with you tomorrow.

For now, I leave you with my artsy outfit picture, having discovered the wonderful canvas that my bathroom mirror and medicine cabinet can be.

I'd love to hear your thoughts...please share!

