P is for Polenta

Polenta was one of those things that I thought was absolutely disgusting when I was a child. I lumped it in the category of other mushy things I didn’t like: oatmeal, grits, Cream of Wheat, etc. I was easily influenced by my parents’ tastes: they didn’t like curry, I didn’t like curry. They didn’t like eggplant, I didn’t like eggplant. And polenta was one of those things.

But when my tastes started to mature, onions and veggies weren’t so bad. Neither was polenta.

It’s a great dish to make when you need something comforting or to use as a flat base for veggies. It’s quick, easy, and you can get really creative with it.

Its simplicity is really what makes it so versatile. Cornmeal, water, salt.

Mexican Polenta

polenta, salsa, cherry tomatoes


Cabbage and Polenta Wraps

polenta, cabbage leaf wrap, onions, roasted red peppers, green olives, matchstick carrots, cucumber


Polenta Stack

polenta, sliced tomato, baby spinach, roasted red pepper

See how easy polenta can be? Give it a try…

I'd love to hear your thoughts...please share!

